Chain of photographs

June 21, 2008

I made this photograph over a year ago at a bar-b-que put on by a dear from of mine Joe Ziolkowski. This is an annual event he puts on for his current students and alumni of his class. It is an open party that any can come and make photographs and get away from RIT. The last time I went to his party was in the fall of 2006.

After the party Joe kindly presented me with the above photograph he made while everyone was on a tractor ride. This photograph means a lot to me because of the contents. Almost half of my class from freshmen year in college is in this picture (mind you it was a class of 12).

After receiving the photograph I talked to a friend of mine who had given me a ride to the party and he said Joe had also given him the same photograph. After realizing we were in turn all trading photographs Anthony Matoza gave me this photograph of Joe taking a picture while driving his tractor, with all of us as his subject.

On Tuesday I received a very awesome gift. Seth personett who was an incoming freshmen had photographed me making a portrait of Joe on the exact same wagon ride all the other above photographs were made. The photograph I was making has played a huge role in my direction of photography. That photograph directed my entire senior portfolio after I made the picture of Joe. It’s pretty awesome to see a photograph someone made of me over a year later. How much my life has changed since then, how much I wish I was still in school without any responsibility.