Best Photo Book of 2008

I premise this writing with a title that explains it all. I have been waiting a long time to write about my newest acquired photo book. “America” by Zoe Strauss arrived in the mail today at work! I purchased the book in early September but Amazon have been dragging their feet. I have been reading all the reviews and all the positive feedback people are writing and sure enough:

IT RULES!

I was very impressed by the quality of the printing and the layout of the photographs. I had already seen the layout online but it’s not the same as holding the book in your hands. Most of the photographs I have seen before but there are a few that are new and some real treats at that. If you were to buy one photography book this year it should be this one!

It is finally winter, after a long fall and four weeks in Miami for an extended summer I have finally had to put on a coat and come back home. It’s official that we are in a recession but it seems the photography business fell into it a lot sooner than our government was willing to admit.  If you have a full time job be thankful, I know that’s what I was thankful for on Thanksgiving.

Lots of plans for the next couple months. Hopefully scanning film I have stacked up and a new project. I took a class through the Cooper Union Continuing education program with Laurel. This week is the last class and I am hoping to take another course with them this winter. I have photographed Jersey City, NJ for the past few months on and off and I think its time to hunker down. For the winter.

One Response to Best Photo Book of 2008

  1. Blake says:

    Photo Book– create your own custom photo book at http://www.familymemories.com/ – it’s easy and the results are truly professional with the print quality andf the binding – you can use this software to create wedding books, baby books, photo books, and portfolio books.

Leave a Reply

